New hosting account

I’ve finally taken the plunge and purchased a hosting account at Dreamhost.com. This blog may eventually move to my new account, but for now I’m using the hosting for freelance and art projects.

If I ever do move this blog, I’ll be sure to notify my subscribers (both of you) so you don’t miss a thing! ;-)

I can’t help but drop a plug for Dreamhost here. For a mere $9.95/month ($7.95/mo if you pre-pay for 2 years), you get:

  • 200GB storage
  • 2TB bandwidth
  • Another 1GB of storage and 16GB of bandwidth is added to your account every week (as of this posting)
  • 1 free url registration for life of account
  • Hosting of unlimited domains and subdomains
  • Unlimited MySQL databases
  • Easy installs of:WordPress blogs, Joomla! content management system, Zen Cart (e-commerce), Gallery (photo management on your web site), and forums
  • More goodies like guestbooks, hit counters, Flash-based media player, Quicktime streaming, polls, Web calendar and Jabber™ chat
  • Tech: Debian Linux servers, PHP, CGI,  Ruby on Rails, Htaccess/Webdav, FTP and Web-based file management
  • …why am I still typing? If you’re interested, check out the site. :-)

Dreamhost

If anyone knows of a better deal, please post a comment and let me know!

Leave a comment